Here I Sit Waiting For A Heartbreak

Here I sit,
Waiting for a phonecall
Waiting for a heartbreak.

I still love
I still adore
I still live with heartache.

But I don’t know
What tidings may come
When the phone rings.

No clue, no sense
Of what she might think
No clue, no sense
Of what she might say
No clue, no sense
Of what she might feel

But she knows my heart’s whispers
My longings and my sighs
And she is contemplating
While my heart waits on a butcher’s block.

And so I sit
Here I wait
For a phonecall and a heartbreak.

The curse of those who truly love is that they don’t know how to stop. No matter how much they’ve (or say) ‘moved on’ a piece of them always remains behind. Thanks to my friend, A, who gave me the illustration of a heart waiting on a butcher’s block.

                                                                                              Copyright (c) Wong Giok Leigh, 12 September 2003. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

