Footprints

(Based on the poem with the same title)

I was walking lost, alone and aimlessly
(‘till You found me)
You said, “Come and follow Me, let Me lead you on
(Just watch and see)
I will always be your Faithful Guide
Lead you through life’s troubles, always by your side”

“Two sets of footprints you will always see
Two sets of footprints you will always find
Two sets of footprints as you walk the road of life
Two sets of footprints as I walk along your side”

So I went through life trusting You were there
Sometimes running, sometimes falling, sometimes crawling
(Weeping on my knees)
When times were hard and I was all alone
I think of You, Lord and what You’ve let me known:

Two sets of footprints I will always see
Two sets of footprints I will always find
Two sets of footprints as I walk the road of life
Two sets of footprints as You walk along my side

Now I stand before Your holy throne, O Lord
(and gaze upon my life)
I see the times when it was hard and when I was weak,
(then tears well in my eyes)
one set of footprints was all that I could see
Where did You go, Lord? Why did You abandon me?

Then You came and stood beside me and You said
(“Look carefully”)
“Those single set of footprints that you see
(They belong to Me)
In times of trouble, when you were on your knees
I carried you through, My child don’t you see?”

“Two sets of footprints you will always see
Two sets of footprints you will always find
Two sets of footprints as you walk the road of life
One set of footprints as I carry you My child”

I wrote this song based on the poem of the same title. I think the message behind the poem and the song is very touching – in our toughest times when God seems far is when He is closest. So close, sometimes we don’t even realise that He is carrying us.

Leave a Reply

